The Japan Academy


Recipients of the Japan Academy Medal elected

Six scholars were elected as recipients of the 12th Japan Academy Medal at the 1095th General Meeting held on January 12th, 2016. They are:

Name Atsushi OTA Ota
Position Associate Professor, Graduate School of Letters, Hiroshima University
Research Subject Total History of Indonesian Local Society in Early-Modern and Modern Ages: Impact of Environment, State, Islam, Outside Merchants, Migrants, and Global Economy
Name Yuzuruha OYAMA Oyama
Position Senior Manager of Decorative Arts, Curatorial Research Department, Tokyo National Museum, Independent Administrative Institution National Institutes for Cultural Heritage
Research Subject Cultural Resources Study Perspective on Antique Textile Called ‘Tsujiga-Hana’
Name Akira KAWAGUCHI Kawaguchi
Position Chief, Department of Agricultural, Forestry and Fisheries, Okayama Prefectural Government
Research Subject Development of Biological Control for Grapevine Crown Gall
Name Osamu TAKEUCHI Takeuchi
Position Professor, Institute for Virus Research, Kyoto University
Research Subject Clarification of Molecular Mechanisms Underlying Inflammation Control in Innate Immunity
Name Kiwamu NISHIDA Nishida
Position Associate Professor, Earthquake Research Institute, The University of Tokyo
Research Subject Studies on Seismic Hum
Name Masahito HAYASHI Hayashi
Position Professor, Graduate School of Mathematics, Nagoya University
Research Subject Information Theory and Quantum Information Theory for Finite-Coding-Length